Floyd Post Office

The Floyd Post Office carries on a tradition that began in 1903. The following information can be found in the "Floyd One Hundred Years" history book.

The First Floyd Post Office was located one mile north of the Village of Floyd in Floyd's first general store. David W. Milam was appointed postmaster on April 14, 1903. Simon W. Lane became postmaster June 24, 1903. The next postmaster was Simon F. Lane, May 22, 1907.

James P. Nash bought the country store, which housed the Post office, and moved the building to a location near his farm home, 1/2 miles east of Floyd on the north side of the road. He became postmaster July 5, 1912.

J.R. Shack bought the store and moved it and the Post Office to a spot about 1/4 mile east of the cemetery on the south side of the road.

Throughout the years, the following persons served as postmaster for the Floyd Post Office, Mr. Alford between 1912 and 1920, George L. Hatcher, Mrs. Beryl (Grant) Gordon March 17, 1928 - May 14, 1932, Dolly Gordon May 26, 1936 until August 1975, Louise Thetford August 29, 1975 - January 1986, Beverly Roberts August 1975 - January 1986, Rita Russell, February 1986.

More Floyd Post Office History will be reported on a monthly basis, so make sure you check back with us, to read more history of Floyd.



The post office lobby is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

The Post Office is open Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 11:30 am.

The mail is delivered Monday - Saturday.

The Floyd Post Office phone number is 478-2283